Skip to main content


wvu campus building at sunset  

Mergers, program recommendations and restructuring of non-academic units have marked a challenging summer of change and set the foundation to build a stronger West Virginia University starting this fall. This update includes information about the next steps in the Academic Transformation process and ongoing efforts to evaluate all areas of the University to maximize efficiencies.

honorary degrees  

The Office of the Provost is accepting nominations of candidates for honorary doctoral degrees at WVU that will be awarded at Commencement exercises in May 2023. Faculty, staff, students and alumni are encouraged to nominate exceptional people who have made outstanding contributions to their field and society.