Skip to main content

Faculty and staff honored with Accessibility Advocate Award

Accessibility Advocate Award certificate

Ten faculty and staff members who go out of their way to make WVU a more accessible environment for students with disabilities have been selected to receive the annual Accessibility Advocate Award, presented by the WVU Office of Accessibility Services. 

“The work of our accessibility advocates across campus is incredibly important for our mutual students,” said Susan Henigin, assistant director of accessibility accommodations. “It’s an honor to recognize these colleagues who support our mission and assist in ensuring equal access for students during their time at WVU.”

The following individuals will be recognized with a certificate commemorating their outstanding commitment to accessibility and featured on the OAS website:

• Rodney Adlington, IT Operations Manager, WVU Libraries

• Rick Bebout, Technology Manager, Reed College of Media

• Rachael Conrad, Assistant Director of Employer Relations, Career Services

• Anna Gravelin Coy, Assistant Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders, School of Medicine

• Tammy Honesty, Associate Professor of Scene Design, School of Theatre and Dance

• Dana Huebert Lima, Teaching Associate Professor and Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies, Department of Biology

• Sharon Martin, Vice President for University Engagement and Chief Marketing Officer 

• Renée Nicholson, Director, WVU Humanities Center

• Danica Ryan, Career Development Specialist, Career Services

• Chris Schmoldt, Interim Director, Mountainlair

“These ten recipients not only go above and beyond when it comes to advocating for our students but they also demonstrate our core Mountaineer values,” said Stephanie Lytle, director of the OAS Autism Support Program. “Each recipient has made a difference on our campus through their service, respect, curiosity, accountability and appreciation while working with and for our students.”

Nominations are made by students and staff, and awardees are selected by a committee within the Office of Accessibility Services.