Skip to main content

Phi Beta Kappa inducts new members

Phi Beta Kappa 2024

Thirty-seven graduates were inducted as lifelong members into the WVU Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, a national honor society that recognizes outstanding achievement in the liberal arts and sciences and champions freedom of thought. 

The following students were inducted during a ceremony on May 11:

  • Jaymie Adkins, political science and philosophy

  • Virginia Affemann, anthropology

  • Jackson Ball, social studies/secondary education

  • George Bradford, criminology

  • Heather Carpenter, psychology

  • Alina Carranza, forensic examiner

  • Emma Coiner, political science and philosophy

  • Eric Commodore, political science

  • Julia Condie, history, women’s and gender studies

  • Aidan Connors, philosophy and history

  • Erica Cottrill, English

  • Taylor Delong, international studies and philosophy

  • Olivia Dowler, history, Spanish and philosophy

  • Mikaela Eackles, English

  • Ingrid Fenniman, English and women’s and gender studies

  • William George, political science and communication studies

  • N'Diya Harris, psychology

  • Jacqueline Heil, philosophy

  • Jordan Howes, English

  • Gabriella Johnson, psychology

  • Lauren Keplinger, chemistry

  • Azeem Khan, political science

  • Gabe Leichliter, philosophy and history

  • Jessica Levinson, forensic examiner

  • Dakota Lichliter, criminology

  • Emma McLaughlin, psychology

  • Kristen McMullen, communication studies

  • Scarlet Mebane, English

  • Christian Miller, international studies and political science

  • McKenna Moore, anthropology and sociology

  • Garrison Phillips, political science and history

  • Tyler Robinson, social studies/secondary education

  • Madison Santmyer, international studies and political science

  • Benjamin Stackpole, philosophy

  • Madison Staten, international studies and geography

  • Quincy Williams, political science and philosophy

  • Rebekahlyn Zielinski, political science and criminology

Hayley Bockius, a biochemistry major from Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, was awarded the 2024 Albert Lee Sturm Scholarship, a stipend awarded annually to a junior who has demonstrated academic achievement, character and enthusiasm while contributing substantially to the University and community. 

The funds were a gift from the late Albert Lee Sturm, a former professor in the Department of Political Science, supplemented by a bequest from Phi Beta Kappa alumnus John Malcomb. 

The country’s oldest honorary society, only the top 10% of liberal arts and sciences graduates are invited to join Phi Beta Kappa. The WVU chapter was formed in 1910 and it is the only chapter in West Virginia.