Skip to main content

LGBTQ+ Commission seeking new members

lgbtq commission flag

The WVU LGBTQ+ Commission is currently accepting applications for members. The Commission is comprised of faculty, staff, students and at least one individual from the broader community who meet once per month. 

Commissioners are charged with the identification of barriers that inhibit the full inclusion and advancement of persons from underrepresented and/or underserved populations, namely, LGBTQ+ and gender diverse people, in order to forward innovative, evidence-informed recommendations that support the creation of an inclusive and welcoming campus and community. 

The Commission meets with university leadership, providing recommendations germane to issues of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and gender diverse people at West Virginia University. More specifically, the objectives of the Commission are to:

  • Create a welcoming environment that supports both inclusion and diversity.

  • Collect information and/or conduct research regarding climate and issues, which affect the LGBTQ campus community.

  • Make recommendations regarding the policies, procedures, and practices, which affect the LGBTQ campus community, with the goal of improving access and opportunities.

  • Ensure that the university appropriately addresses issues of equity, safety, and welfare of LGBTQ faculty, staff, students, and guests.

  • Establish and maintain strong collaborative partnerships with organizations and entities which support the purpose, mission, and vision of West Virginia University

The Commission works collaboratively and actively with the LGBTQ+ Center. The Commission is an action-oriented group engaging in projects, policy changes and legal advocacy, and other issues that have a positive impact on our community.

Faculty and staff on the Commission serve one-year terms and may be reappointed. Undergraduate and graduate students on the Commission serve a one-year term without reappointment.

If you are interested in joining, contact Daniel Brewster, Commission chair, at by Aug. 6.