Skip to main content

WVU's top health sciences students selected as WV AHEC: Rural Community Health Scholars

AHEC Scholars logo

The WVU Institute for Community and Rural Health is pleased to announce 37 of West Virginia's best and brightest health professions students were recently accepted into the WV AHEC Rural Community Health Scholars Program , 26 of whom are from WVU.

Selected Scholars will come together from five institutions and thirteen disciplines across the state of West Virginia to refine their skill sets and positively impact the lives of West Virginians in rural and underserved communities. Scholars will also develop an astute understanding of how to become leaders in their professions and communities, how to best implement health care services in rural or underserved areas, and work as an interprofessional team. Concurrently, Scholars will receive supplemental training and education from experts in rural healthcare, provide meaningful patient care in the field, and gain hands-on experience.

Please join us in congratulating the following Scholars from West Virginia University:

Andrea Ballengee (Dentistry), Ashley Boyce (Health Informatics and Information Management), Lauren Campbell (Master of Occupational Therapy), Alexandria Dayton (Health Informatics and Information Management), Michelle Duvall (Nutrition/Dietetics), Kelsie Gillespie (Physical Therapy), Ellyn Harper (Dentistry), Marissa Harris (Nursing), Christiana Hess (Doctor of Pharmacy), Marvina Jones (Master of Public Health), Elizabeth Little (Exercise Physiology), Rachel Marino (Dentistry), Olivia Mason (Dentistry), Sarah Michaels (Dentistry), Taylor Miller (Physical Therapy), Courtney Mullen (Nursing), Shannon O'Connor (Master of Occupational Therapy), Kruti Pandya (Master of Public Health), Megan Popp (Dentistry), Anastasia Robinson (Doctor of Pharmacy), Kelly Simmons (Medicine), Dianne Techwei (Doctor of Pharmacy), Victoria Travis (Physical Therapy), Grace Walkup (Medicine), Kimberly Wallace (Doctor of Nursing Practice), and Jessica Wukasch (Doctor of Nursing Practice).

Additional Scholars were also selected from the following institutions: Bluefield State University (1), Marshall University (4), the University of Charleston (1), and the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine (5).

RCH Scholars focuses on interprofessional education through clinical, didactic, and community-based lenses, and also emphasizes how each Scholar can create change and reshape the status quo for health care in his/her/their community.  For more information on the RCH Scholars program, visit our website or contact Jessica Stidham, MA at

For more information visit the Rural Community Health Scholars webpage.